Friday, February 6, 2009

15 NWFP, FATA senators to retire on March 11

Daily Times

15 NWFP, FATA senators to retire on March 11

By Zakir Hassnain

PESHAWAR: As many as 11 Senators from the NWFP and four from the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) will retire from the Senate after the expiry of their term of office on March 11.

Out of the 11 Senators belonging to the NWFP, seven are retiring from Senate's general seats, and two each from seats reserved for women and technocrats/ulema.

Among those from NWFP retiring on March 11, two are independent senators, two belong to Pakistan People's Party-Sherpao (PPP-S), five are from the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA), one from the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and one from the Awami National Party (ANP).

The retiring senators are:

1) Maulana Rahat Hussain (MMA, general seat) son of Hamayun Khan. Maulana Rahat comes from Shangla District.

2) Sahibzada Khalid Jan (MMA, general seat), son of Sahibzada Ahmed Jan, from Malakand Agency.

3) Dr Kausar Firdaus (MMA, seat reserved for women) wife of Muhammad Azam. Dr Firdaus come from Tehkal Payan, Peshawar.

4) Waqar Ahmed Khan (independent, general seat) son of Gulzar Ahmed Khan.

5) Shujaul Mulk (PPP-S, general seat). Shuja comes from Swat district.

6) Gulzar Ahmed Khan (independent, general seat) son of Ghulam Qadir Khan.

7) Haji Muhammad Adeel (ANP, general seat) son of Hakim Abdul Jalil Nadvi. Haji Adeel is a resident of Peshawar.

8) Iqbal Zafar Jhagra (PML-Nawaz, general seat) son of Malik Muzaffar Khan. Jhagra hails from Peshawar district.

9) Aneesa Zeb Tahir Kheli (PPP-S, seat reserved for women) daughter of Muhammad Aurangzeb. Aneesa comes from Haripur district.

10) Dr Muhammad Said (MMA, technocrat) son of Muhammad Hamid from Peshawar.

11) Maulana Samiul Haq (MMA, seats reserved for ulema) son of Maulana Abdul Haq, a resident of Akora Khattak, Nowshera.

The four retiring senators from the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) are:

1) Engineer Rashid Ahmed Khan (independent) son of Malik Zareef Khan, FR Kurram Agency.

2) Nasar Khan (independent) son of Haji Amin Shah.

3) Syed Muhammad Hussain (independent) son of Syed Jalaluddin, Kotak, Orakzai Agency.

4) Abdul Malik (independent) son of Sheikh Abdul Aziz, Landi Kotal, Khyber Agency.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks For your Valuable Comments.