Sunday, February 15, 2009

Committee formed to restore peace in Hangu, to hold talks with the militants to check the incidents of kidnapping



Committee formed to restore peace in Hangu

Sunday, February 15, 2009
Our correspondent


A 23-member committee was formed in a grand jirga held at the office of the district coordination officer (DCO) here Saturday to bring a lasting peace in the area.

Sources said that a grand jirga of the elders of Kohat, Hangu, Orakzai Agency and Kurram Agency was held at DCO office. Commissioner Kohat Omar Khan Afridi, DCO Mujeebur Rehman and DPO Sajjad Khan were also present on the occasion.

A committee, comprising MNA Pir Delawar Shah, MPA Kalb-i-Hassan, MNA Pir Haider Ali Shah, MPA Attiqur Rehman, MPA Mufti Syed Janan, Javed Ibrahim Paracha chairman Sunni Council, Bakht Jamal, Haji Gul Muhammad, Pir Fazle Abbas, District Nazim Khan Afzal and Shah Hussain, was formed in the meeting to find ways and means to restore peace to area.

It may be added that the DCO had already dissolved the previous peace committee, which had failed to make any breakthrough in restoring peace to the area.

Speaking on the occasion, Omar Khan Afridi said that restoration of peace in the area was a must for the development of the area, adding that the government would use all-out resources and efforts to ensure peace and writ of the government.

Meanwhile, another jirga was also held inside the Doaba Police Station, which was attended by the elders of Naryab, Sarozai, Kabogha, Tora Warhi, Darsamand, Doaba, Zargari, Shnawarhi and Chapri Naryab.

Those who attended the meeting included Qazi Rehman, Abdul Manan, Akhunzada Mukhtiaruddin, Sultan Shah, Gul Maeen Khan and DSP Thal Circle, Shakirullah Bangash.

The participants announced to constitute a 100-member committee to hold talks with the militants to check the incidents of kidnapping, robberies and other crimes in the area.



Click to join parachinar616

Click to join parachinar616

Subscribe to parachinar616

Powered by